

## MSGA 2024 Championship Recap: August 13-14, 2024

The 22nd annual MSGA Championship was held at Swan Lake Resort G. C. in Plymouth, IN on August 13th & 14th. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2024 season. The turnout was a field of 48 players for the Two-Man Best-Ball event including eight guests. Four flights were required to accommodate the 24 teams.

This was the 11th consecutive year playing the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake, although the MSGA has also played the course for regular tournaments. The staff at Swan Lake, led by Director of Golf Chad Hutsell, did a wonderful job in preparing the course and hosting the championship that included two continental breakfasts and lunches. Chad helped MSGA Director of Golf Tom Spartz with managing the tournament. Chad also managed the scoring for the shoot-out activities.

The weather was perfect with temperatures in the mid 80's for both days and few clouds. Both days had gentle breezes for the five Two-Man Best-Ball team matches and the four hole Shoot-Out for the Championship.

For the 2024 MSGA Championship, the winners were Bill Dekker and Dan Tarpley who qualified by winning Flight (D) by six points over Andy Dosmann and Brian Mikel and Dave Jones and Dan Kaleth who lost the second place tie-breaker. Second place for the Championship went to Bill Murray and Rick Ogle who placed first in Flight (B) over Dale Garwood and Randy Mumma by 3.5 points. Other flight winners were Fred Hillis and Kevin Shidler in Flight (A) by one point over Jack Kary and Keith Bope and Jim Jeselnick and Lynn Haverstock in Flight (C) over Mike Hoffman and Walt Ailes by 2.5 points. With only four flights, two wild-card spots were added for the Shoot-Out from the second-place teams with the most points. Those teams were Jack Kary and Keith Bope and Mike Hoffman and Walt Ailes.

In the shoot-out the teams of Jeselnick and Haverstock and Hoffman and Ailes were eliminated on the first hole with net pars. Kary and Bope were eliminate on the second hole while Hillis and Shidler were eliminated on the third hole.

On the final hole (par 5 18<sup>th</sup>), Bill Dekker hit his approach shot from approximately 150 yards from the rough to five feet. After Murray and Ogle were unable to make their putts, Bill made the birdie to win the championship for Dan Tarpley and himself.

Congratulations to the flight winners and runner ups and especially to Champions Bill Dekker and Dan Tarpley who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as winners of the 2024 MSGA Championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies. All results of the Championship tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab. Pictures of the Flight winners and scoresheets for the Flight results will be added to the MSGA Championship tab.