

SANDY PINES GC Recap: June 19, 2024

The MSGA's fourth tournament of the 2024 season was held at Sandy Pines GC in DeMotte, IN on June 19th.

The tournament had a total of 98 players participating with two new members playing in their first MSGA tournament. For 2024, the MSGA continues to use three sets of tees. Flights A & B are played from the Gold (back) tees, Flights C & D played from the Blue (middle) tees and Flights E & F from the Green (forward) tees.

Players choose the tee of their choice; 27 played the Gold tees, 38 played the Blue and 33 chose the Green. The only limitation is to play Green tees, a player's age plus Handicap Index must be 85+.

The highlights of the day were a Hole-in-One by Tom Moser on hole #13 playing from 118 yards and Bill Ball's great round of 69 (net 66) in flight A.

The weather was very hot with high humidity but with some gentle breezes at various times. The golf course was in good condition with nice fairways, playable rough, plenty of sand and very large and fast greens. Putting was a real challenge from distance over many undulations.

Overall, the course played tougher than normal vs. par with handicaps, as only six players bested Net par of 72 while one matched par. For the 98 players, the average Gross score was 91.1 with 78.4 as the average Net score, 6.4 shots over par 72, which was above the normal of 3 to 5 over.

In the Individual Medal Gross competition by flight Bill Ball was best with a his three under par 69 in Flight (A) followed by Darren Stevens (A) with 74 and Kevin Shidler (A) and Jeff Starr (C) with 77's.

In the Individual Medal Net competition by flight, Bill Ball (A) led with a net 66 followed by Jeff Starr (C) and Bob Henrikson (F) with 69's. Darren Stevens (A) and Dan Kaleth (E) posted net 70's.

In the Skins competition, seven players posted two skins each. In total there were 38 skins in the six flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, obviously Tom Moser was closest with his hole in one on #13. In total there were six C-T-P's inside four feet.

After four tournaments, the Brady Cup competition is led by Brian Gensel with 935 points followed by Kent Naylor (850), Kevin Shidler (845) and Tom Moser (804).

The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.