

BLACKTHORN GC Recap: July 1, 2024

The MSGA's fifth tournament of the 2024 season was held at Blackthorn GC in South Bend, IN on July 1st.

The weather was comfortable for early July with temperatures in the low 80's, partly cloudy skies and gentle breezes. The golf course was in very good condition with generous fairways, playable rough, plenty of sand and large and undulating greens. Putting was difficult for longer putts over the many undulations.

The tournament had a total of 94 players participating with two new members playing in their first MSGA tournament. For 2024, the MSGA continues to use three sets of tees. Flights A & B are played from the Gold (back) tees, Flights C & D played from the Blue (middle) tees and Flights E & F from the Green (forward) tees.

Players choose the tee of their choice; 23 played the Gold tees, 40 played the Blue and 31 chose the Green. The only limitation is to play Green tees, a player's age plus Handicap Index must be 85+.

Overall, the course played tougher than normal vs. par with handicaps, as only five players bested Net par of 72 while two matched. For the 94 players, the average Gross score was 91.9 with 79.3 as the average Net score, 7.2 shots over par 72, which was above the normal of 3 to 5 over.

In the Individual Medal Gross competition by flight Jason Christy was best with a his three over par 75 in Flight (A) followed by Darren Stevens (A) with 78 and Jerry Giolitto (C) with 79.

In the Individual Medal Net competition by flight, Shawn Reed (B) led with a net 67 followed by Dave DeBoer (E) with 69 and Biff Tadros (F) with 71. Kyle Elliott (A), Phil Weybright (C), Dave Pendergast (C) and Bruce Fisher (F) posted even par net 72's.

In the Skins competition, Shawn Reed (B) and Jeff Albertson (D) posted two skins each. In total there were 29 skins in the six flights.

In the Closest-to-Pin contests, Jeff Albertson (Blue tee) hit his shot to 3 feet 0 inches on #16 from 133 yards and Tom Spartz's (Gold) shot ended at 3 feet 6 inches on #8 playing from 140 yards.

After five tournaments, the Brady Cup competition is led by Brian Gensel with 1035 points followed by Kevin Shidler (958), Kent Naylor (950) and Tom Moser (904).

The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.